SSSR NEWSLETTER January, 2005

The 2004 Meeting in Amsterdam

Our 2004 meeting was held in Amsterdam at the Rode Hoed from Sunday, June 27 to Wednesday, June 30. Thanks to the generous efforts of Pieter Reitsma, who served not only as Program Chair but also took care of the local arrangements, it was a great success. There were more presentations than ever before--288, arranged in three parallel sessions over three full days, plus a plenary session in which Linnea Ehri presented her Distinguished Scientific Contribution address. The total number of participants was 343. Pieter organized some wonderful social events, including canal cruises, a reception at Town Hall, and a conference dinner at the brasserie De Kelderof.

The Awards Committee announced that Charles Perfetti was the recipient of this year's Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award. We also honored our founder, Ron Carver, who died in January, 2004, by making him the first recipient of SSSR's Citation for Excellence. Ron's wife, Mary-Lou, accepted the award; their daughters Melanie and Heather were also in attendance.

The 2005 Meeting in Toronto

The 2005 meeting will be held at the Marriott Eaton Centre Hotel in Toronto from June 24 to June 26. Pieter is again Program chair and is currently organizing the program. Alexandra Gottardo, Conference Coordinator, is in charge of local arrangements. Check the SSSR website for details (www.triplesr.org).

Membership in SSSR

To join SSSR, go to the website (see above) and follow the procedures (there is an application form). Membership in the Society includes a subscription to SSSR's journal, Scientific Studies of Reading, edited by Frank Manis and published by Lawrence Erlbaum Associates. Our website now has the capability for web payment of dues and for member access to the electronic SSR journal.

Voting Membership

At the 2004 meeting the Board approved the applications of nine new voting members: Jason L. Anthony (University of Houston), Julia M. Carroll (University of Warwick), Chris Chase (Claremont McKenna College), Carol McDonald Connor (University of Michigan), S. Helene Deacon (Dalhousie University), Debra Jared (University of Western Ontario), Linda S. Mason (University of Illinois-Urbana), S. Jay Samuels (University of Minnesota), and Eliane Segers (University of Nijmegen).

The Board encourages current active members to apply for consideration as voting members. Go to the website for the criteria and the forms to fill out.

SSSR Board and Election

Brian Byrne has been elected to serve on the SSSR Board for a three-year term. Congratulations, Brian!

The current composition of the Board is as follows: President, Joanna Williams; President-Elect, Pieter Reitsma; Vice President, Maggie Snowling; Past President, Richard Olson; Secretary, Linda Siegel; Treasurer, Don Compton; Historian, Joanne Carlisle; International Coordinator, Karin Landerl; Conference Coordinator, Alexandra Gottardo; Publications Chair, Hollis Scarborough; Elected Board Members, Benita Blachman, Pat Bowers, Brian Byrne. Frank Manis is Editor of SSR.

The 2006 Meeting

Linda Siegel has arranged for SSSR to meet at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, from July 5 to July 8. This is a beautiful part of Canada, and the accommodations at the University will be comfortable and reasonably priced. Further information will be posted on the website when arrangements are complete.