Society for the Scientific Study of Reading President's Newsletter 2011

Greetings colleagues. I am pleased to report that this past year has been another successful year for the Society.

Eighteenth Annual Conference

Our annual conference was held at the Don CeSar Beach Resort in St. Petersburg Beach, Florida. Don Compton did another excellent job of organizing the conference and putting together the program. It was our largest conference yet with 496 attendees and 390 papers. I especially enjoyed giving my presidential address so close to my childhood home. Don and I were worried that the Florida weather might be too hot for a conference in July. However, the ocean breezes, large swimming pools, and refreshing drinks made the location quite enjoyable. It turned out to be a great venue for the conference.



Also, in conjunction with the conference, Helene Deacon organized a pre-conference on hierarchical linear modeling and publishing and grant writing. The speakers were Carol Conner (Florida State) and Peggy McCardle (NIH). The preconference included 60 early career researchers and 20 additional attendees who were interested in HLM. Many thanks to Helene for her work on the preconference the last few years.

Awards

The Rebecca Sandak Award was presented to Yaacov Petscher (Florida State) and Jennifer Gilbert (Vanderbilt). This award recognizes an early career researcher who holds great promise and dedication to the field. Travel Awards were given to Elisa Porta, from Argentina, and Marcin Szwed, from Poland.

SSR Journal

The Society's journal, *Scientific Studies of Reading*, continues to do well. In 2010, the journal's 1-year impact factor was 1.97, which makes it the highest rated reading journal, and ranks it 13 out of 184 education journals. The submission rate remains high (N=106) and provides enough high quality papers

to fill 6 issues a year. The current acceptance rate is 23%. Rauno Parrila's term as Editor ends in March 2012, and we thank him for his valuable service. We also thank Paul van den Broek who has served as an Associate Editor. I am pleased to announce that the new Editor will be Kate Cain. Helene Deacon will stay on as an Associate Editor and Peter de Jong will be added as a second Associate Editor. John Kirby has also been appointed as the Chair of the Publication Committee.

Membership

We currently have 745 members including 516 regular members and 229 student members. The numbers are slightly down from last year but better reflect those who have actually paid dues. Also, the membership data shows that we truly are an international organization with members from 33 different countries representing 48 different nationalities. Thanks to Ana Luiza Navas, our International Coordinator, we are better able to collect the latter data.

This year, voting membership was granted to Yaacov Petscher, Sara Hart, Jane Ashby, Lee Branum Martin, Genevieve McArthur, Kelly Cartwright, Shayne Piasta, James Kim, Eva Marinus, Gary Feng, Katherine Binder, Linda Lombardino, Daisy Powell, Natalie Olinghouse, Taeko Wydell, A. Jackson Stenner, Fiona Kyle, Elena Zaretsky, and Tatiana Cury Pollo. I encourage all qualified members to apply for voting status so that our election results are representative of the membership. Prospective voting members must have authored at least three empirical papers in peer-reviewed journals, be an active member of SSSR, and have given a spoken or interactive paper at the annual SSSR conference. A call for applications for voting membership will occur early next year.

Please remember to pay your membership dues for 2012 by April 1 to avoid a late fee.

Board Membership

I am pleased to announce that in the recent election, Lesly Wade-Woolley was selected as the Vice President and Helene Deacon as an elected board member. At this time, I would also like to thank Maggie Snowling, Past President, who is transitioning off the Board after 8 years of service. A big thanks to Maggie for all she has contributed to the Society. I would also like to thank Kate Cain for her service as an elected board member the past two years.

2012 Conference

Next year's conference will be held July 11-14 at the Le Westin Montreal, Canada. Cammie McBride (up-coming President-Elect) and Robert Savage (Conference Coordinator) are busy planning the meeting. Don't forget that paper submissions are due by December 15, 2011. Our conference will overlap partially with the annual meeting of the Society for Text and Discourse, and we will share several sessions with them. More details will be provided in the near future.

Finally, I would like to say that it has been an honor to serve as the President of the Society for the past two years. I am sorry to be stepping down but I am pleased to turn the position over to my colleague, Don Compton, who I am sure will be a strong leader for the organization.

Prepared by Hugh Catts, President SSSR