Society for the Scientific Study of Reading **President's Newsletter 2012**

Happy New Year to all SSSR members. I am pleased to provide you with an update of another great year for the Society.

Nineteenth Annual Conference

We Talked We Listened





Our nineteenth annual conference was held in the Le Westin hotel in downtown Montreal. The accommodations, meeting rooms, and proximity to Vieux-Montréal (Old Montreal) made it a spectacular venue. We also shared a joint day with the Society for Text and Discourse (ST&D) providing a rich and diverse set of presentations for our members. It was our largest SSSR conference to date with 486 presenters and 574 attendees. Please join me in thanking Cammie McBride, VP and program chair, for putting together a wonderful program and Rob Savage for coordinating all the local details associated with the conference. The added dimension of coordinating with ST&D created some headaches for Cammie and Rob, but the final product was certainly worth it! Two nonacademic highlights from the conference were an outing to Les 7 Doigts de la Main: Sequence 8 (a talented group of 7 young acrobats) and an appearance by Rob's band to close out the final day of the conference. Other highpoints included Maggie Snowling's lecture associated with the Distinguished Scientific Contribution award, Chuck Perfetti's SSSR/ST&D keynote address, a joint SSSR/ST&D symposium entitled "Recent Progress in Reading Comprehension", a joint SSSR/ST&D poster session, and another successful preconference coordinated by Jennifer Cromley.

Twentieth Annual Conference

Next year's conference will be held July 10-13 at the Chinese University of Hong Kong (http://www.cuhk.edu.hk/english/index.html). Cammie McBride will once again be the program chair. This will be a very exciting experience for us as it is the first SSSR conference to take place in Asia. Details about the conference can be found on the conference link of the SSSR webpage (http://www.triplesr.org/).

Awards

The Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award was given to Richard Wagner and Joe Torgesen. Rick will give the award address at the 2014 meeting. The Rebecca Sandak Award was presented to Elizabeth Norton. Frank Vellutino received an honorary fellowship for lifetime achievement. Travel Awards were given to Macarena Silva from Chile and Sonali Nag from India. The Nata Goulandris Travel Award was given to Vassiliki Diamanti, who is a Greek citizen. Congrats to all the award winners.

SSR Journal

The Society's journal, Scientific Studies of Reading, continues to do well. In 2011, the journal's 1-year impact factor was 1.86 and its 5-year impact factor was 3.58, which correspond to ranks of 15 and 4 out of 206 journals in the ISI Education and Educational Research category. The number of articles submitted in 2012 remains high (100 original articles), which provides enough high quality papers to fill 6 issues a year. Of papers sent out for review in 2012, the average first decision time was 62 days and the acceptance rate was 15%. The current editorial team, who took on papers submitted from 1 March 2012, are Kate Cain (Editor) and Helene Deacon and Peter de Jong (Associate Editors). John Kirby continues to serve as the Chair of the Publication Committee.

Membership

The Society continues to grow. We currently have 952 members including 654 regular members and 298 student members. Membership data shows that we truly are an international organization with members from 29 different countries attending the 2012 conference.

This year, voting membership was granted to Kevin Kien Hoa ChungChung Kevin Kien Hoa, Fiona Duff, George Manolitsis, Jan C. Frijters, Jennifer Gilbert, Jenny Thomson, Jessica Logan, Jill Pentimonti, Joanne Arciuli, Juan Zhang, Jyotsna Vaid, Kristen McMaster, Lori Skibbe, Michelle Drouin, Minna Torppa, Monica Melby-Lervåg, Nadine Gaab, Nicole Patton Terry, Panayiota Kendeou, Rachel Schiff, Tiffany Hogan, and Nicole Landi. Please visit the webpage for details on how to apply for voting member status.

Darlene will be sending out a reminder soon to pay your membership dues for 2013. Please pay your dues on time to avoid a late fee.

SSSR Board

There were several changes to the SSSR Board. As you all know Hugh Catts has transitioned from the roll of President to Past President where he continues his board responsibilities as the chair of the membership committee and serving on the awards committee. Richard Wagner was selected as an elected board member. He will serve a three-year term starting January 2013. At the same time, Nenagh Kemp will transition off the board after a three-year term. Dorit Aram replaces Ana Luiza Navas as the international coordinator, Nicole Sandi Patton-Terry replaces Karin Landerl on the publications committee, and Penny Colllins replaces Karin Landerl as the secretary. We thank Nenagh, Ana Luiza, and Karin for their fine service as board members.

Sincerely Don Compton President SSSR