

Society for the Scientific Study of Reading

2014 President's Newsletter

21st Annual Conference in Santa Fe

We had a wonderful annual conference this year in Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA. **Lesly Wade-Woolley** did an amazing job of pulling the conference together. Both the preconference and conference were held at the Convention Centre on Marcy Street.



A welcoming ceremony was also held at La Terraza in La Fonda in the Plaza Hotel, where the sunset was spectacular! There were a

total of 467 participants hailing from 26 countries and regions-- Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Ireland, Israel, Japan, Mexico, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovenia, Sweden, Taiwan, United Kingdom, and the United States. Lesly organized the entire event seamlessly, including a conference dinner on Friday night with a great band and a fantastic Southwestern buffet dinner. Please join me in appreciating Lesly again for this



extremely successful conference. One highlight of the event was the hosting of successive breakfasts for graduate students with their "academic crushes." Both students and

participating professors seemed to enjoy the close interactions those breakfasts afforded very much. I would also like to thank **Young-Suk Kim** for organizing a preconference for our students. The preconference focused on eye-tracking techniques as taught by **Gary Feng**. I also talked about some writing and presentation techniques related to journal publishing.

Award Winners from the 21st Annual Conference

This year we had several award winners announced at the conference. Many congratulations to **Rebecca Treiman** of Washington University in St. Louis, MO, USA for the Distinguished Contributions Award. For this award, Rebecca will be giving her awards speech in the 2016 SSSR conference.



Richard K. Wagner and Joe Torgesen were cowinners of this award for 2014, and Richard gave a great talk on his research on

Rebecca Sandak Award winners shared the stage

reading, writing composition, and optimizing identification of at-risk readers. There were two winners of the Rebecca Sandak Award: **Suzanne Adlof**, of the University of South Carolina and **Sara Hart**, of Florida State University, both in the United States. Our two travel awards went to professors traveling from Argentina: **Eleonora Lasala**, of the Universad Nacional de San Martin and **Maria D'Allessio**, of the University of Buenos Aires. The Nata Goulandris Travel Award was given to **Angeliki Altani.**

<u>22nd Annual Conference in The Big Island of</u> <u>Hawaii</u>

The 2015 SSSR conference will take place July 15-18 on The Big Island, Hawaii. Lesly Wade-Woolley is organizing this entire program as well, and everyone seems very excited about it! The conference dinner will likely be a luau, a traditional Hawaiian feast that is a "must" do when visiting Hawaii. The Big Island is a magical place with temple ruins, active volcanoes, magnificent waterfalls, black-sand beaches, lush foliage, and breath-taking underworld sea life.

SSR Journal

The society's journal, Scientific Studies of Reading, goes from strength to strength. SSR has a 1-year impact factor of 2.367 and is ranked 8th (out of 53) in the category 'Psychology, Educational' and 14th (out of 219) in 'Education and Educational Research.' From 2015, the journal will increase in size, so we should be able to publish



one additional article per issue. We strongly encourage all members of SSSR to submit their research papers to SSR. Many thanks to **Kate Cain** particularly, for her leadership as Editor of SSR, our flagship journal over the past three years. In March 2015, Kate will step

down from her position as Editor, and **Karin Landerl** will then take over.

<u>Membership</u>

We currently have 725 members, of whom 204 are student members. We value student members very highly. We also encourage seasoned members to become voting members. Fourteen candidates were promoted to voting members in SSSR in 2014. Voting members help to lead SSSR with their input in elections. Becoming a voting member demonstrates seniority in the field of reading research. If you are interested in applying for voting membership, please send your application form to **Becky Chen** at xchenbumgardner@gmail.com by May 15, 2015.

<u>Website</u>

If you have been to our website recently, you realize that our new website is up and running. Special thanks to **Lesly Wade-Woolley** and **Don Compton** for overseeing the development of this website and especially to Lesly for overseeing our first year of submissions to the conference via this new website. The website is slowly developing into a place where information on new articles from SSR are highlighted and where information on upcoming events are displayed. This is a work in progress. Great thanks to **Amy Scarborough**, our new webmaster, for getting the site to work in our first year of voting and submitting via this site. We would also like to thank **Sean Day** for his excellent general administrative management for SSSR.

We are also in the process of archiving our historical documents on SSSR and putting them online. If you have any old documents related to the establishment and/or development of SSSR, please let us know. Contact me (Cammie McBride at <u>cmcbride@psy.cuhk.edu.hk</u>) about any information you might want to share. We may also be asking some members for brief narratives of the beginning of SSSR at some point. This is a work in progress.

SSSR Board and Committees

Congratulations to **Rebecca Treiman** for having won the Board membership election for SSSR this fall. We are grateful to **Helene Deacon** for having served as a Board member previously. Rebecca now takes her place. In addition, we have appointed three new members to the publications committee. These are **Elsje van Bergen**, **Young-Suk Kim**, and **Frank Manis**. Two new member have been appointed to the awards committee: Lee Branum-Martin & **Clare Wood**. Many thanks to all who serve!

Warmest Wishes for 2015,

Cammie McBride, President, SSSR

Scenes from our 21st Annual Conference in Santa Fe, New Mexico





Distinguished Contributions award winner **Richard Wagner and President-Elect Lesly** Wade-Woolley shared a happy SSSR moment

For more scenes from the Santa Fe conference please go to our Facebook page at: https://www.facebook.com/SSSReading



Friday night conference dinner





Exchanging research ideas while basking in the Santa Fe sun