## Call for Applications/Nominations for the Annual Rebecca Sandak Young Investigator Award

The Rebecca L. Sandak Young Investigator Award was established in 2008 to honor the memory of Rebecca Sandak who died before her research goals and ideas could be fully realized. The award is intended to recognize a gifted young reading researcher who shows outstanding promise and dedication to the field. The award includes a certificate and a monetary award of \$500. Recent recipients of this award include Yaacov Petscher and Jennifer Gilbert (2011), Elizabeth Norton (2012), Fabienne Chetail (2013), and Suzanne Adlof and Sara Hart (2014).

Eligible candidates must meet the following criteria:

- 1) Applicants must be doctoral students, postdocs, faculty, lecturers or research scientists who have not received their Ph.D. more than five years ago (i.e., the applicant's Ph.D. must have been awarded no earlier than July of the fifth calendar year prior to the current year, although consideration will be given for parental or medical leaves if requested).
- 2) Applicants must have an accepted spoken or interactive paper.
- 3) Applicants must attend the conference and present their spoken or interactive paper.

Applicants or individuals nominating on an applicant's behalf should submit the application to the chair of the awards committee by June 1<sup>st</sup>. The award winner will be announced at the annual meeting. The following applications materials are required:

- 1) A nomination letter that summarizes the applicant's research and makes the case for the nominee's promise and dedication to the field of reading research.
- 2) A CV

Please send your application to Rick Wagner: <a href="mailto:rkwagner@psy.fsu.edu">rkwagner@psy.fsu.edu</a>