The Distinguished Scientific Contributions Award recognises empirical, theoretical, or scholarly work or collections of works that have served significantly to further the scientific understanding of reading, its processes, its acquisition, or its instruction. 
The award, which was instituted in 2000, is given every other year. The next award will be given in 2024.
The award covers registration fees, entry to the conference social event, and four nights in the conference hotel for the 2025 conference. Award winners will also receive one year’s SSSR membership.


Both nominees and nominators must be voting members of SSSR. Please note that self-nominations are not accepted for this award. Nominations should be supported by at least two nominators.

Application Materials and Procedure

Please submit the following materials to Jennifer Hughes-Hardie (scientificstudy.reading@gmail.com) by March 15th 2024:

1.    Name of nominee
2.    500-word rationale summarising the nominee’s distinctive and sustained contribution to the science of reading and its applications
3.    The nominee’s top ten citations (which may include articles, chapters, books, or software)
4.    The nominee’s CV

Recommendations for nominations can be resubmitted for the next award two years later.

Past Award Winners

2022 award: Postponed
2020 award winner: Mark Seidenberg
2018 award winner: Charles Hulme
2016 award winner: Joanna P. Williams
2014 award winner: Rebecca Treiman
2012 award winners: Richard Wagner and Joseph Torgesen
2010 award winner: Maggie Snowling
2008 award winner: Hollis Scarborough
2006 award winner: Richard K. Olson
2004 award winner: Charles A. Perfetti
2002 award winner: Linnea Ehri
2000 award winners: Keith Stanovich and Peter Bryant

Distinguished Fellow Award Winners (Discontinued)

1999 award winner: Richard Venezky
1998 award winners: Al Liberman, Don Shankweiler, and Isabel Liberman
1996 award winners: John Carroll, George McConkie, and Keith Rayner