Society for the Scientific Study of Reading

The purpose of Society for the Scientific Study of Reading (SSSR) is to promote the scientific study of reading and to disseminate information about reading and related areas such as language and literacy. The society sponsors conferences and a scientific journal.


Hand holding loud speaker

SSSR conference 2024: Save the Date

The next annual meeting of SSSR will take place from Wednesday 10th to Saturday 13th July 2024 at the Scandic Falkoner Hotel in Copenhagen, Denmark.

Welcome to our new voting members

Li-Jen Kuo, Hope Lancaster, Jackie Relyea, Selcuk Guven

First Call for Papers

The First Call for Papers for SSSR2024 has been released!

Share Announcements

You can share announcements via our Discussion List or to add to our resources pages by submitting our new webform.

Latest Opportunities

See our resources pages for the latest job and workshop opportunities.

Second Call for Papers – Submissions Open

The Second Call for Papers for SSSR2024 has been released and submissions are now open!

New SSSR Vice-President

Congratulations to Jan Fritjers who has been elected to serve as the next Vice President of SSSR! Jan will take up his post on 1 January 2024.

New SSSR Secretary

Congratulations to Nicole Conrad who has been appointed as our new SSSR Secretary! Nicole will commence her new role in January 2024.

Reminder to Renew Membership

Remember to renew your membership for 2024! You will need to renew before conference registration if you wish to benefit from the reduced member rate. Join or renew here:

Decisions on Conference Submissions

Decisions on submissions have now been made for #SSSR2024 and authors have been notified! Please check your spam/junk folders if you submitted a proposal but have not yet received a decision email.

Registration for SSSR2024 now open!

Registration is now open for SSSR2024! Navigate to the 'Conference' section of the website for the registration form and details.