Outstanding Scientific Contribution Award (Discontinued)

The award for the Outstanding Scientific Contribution to the study of reading recognizes specific empirical, theoretical, or scholarly works or collections of work that have served significantly to further the scientific understanding of reading, its acquisition, or its instruction.

  • 1999 Award winner:  Peter Bryant
  • 1997 Award winners:  Alvin Liberman, Isabelle Liberman, and Donald Shankweiler
  • 1995 Award winners:  Keith Rayner and Geroge McConkie