2023 Travel Awards

Travel Awards for individuals from countries with emerging or developing economies

Four travel awards are available for individuals who attend and present at the 2023 SSSR conference. Each award is $1000.  We expect that two awards will be given to researchers who have a PhD and two awards to those who do not. Applicant must be both a citizen and a resident of a country listed in this Excel file (derived from the World Bank classification system) as low or middle income. Applicant must have a paper accepted at the 2023 SSSR conference and must present at the conference. Please submit the following materials to Jennifer Hughes  (scientificstudy.reading@gmail.com) by April 15, 2023

1.  Application (please download Word doc application, fill in, and send as a PDF)
2. Vita in English (PDF format)
3. Letter of support from someone who can speak to your suitability for this award, such as a colleague or your department chair (PDF format) 

Previous Travel Award Recipients: 

  • 2022 award winners: Sabrine A.M. Townsend (Brazil), Sandra Romero Carreón (Mexico)
  • 2021 award winners: Kadine de Carvalho (Brazil), Tengwen Fan (China)
  • 2020 award winners: Aline Elisabete Pereira (Brazil), Alioth Guerrero Aranda (Cuba), Maria Rufina Pearson (Argentina), María Elsa Porta (Argentina)
  • 2019 award winners: Carol Mesa (Colombia), Gaby Silva Maceda  (Mexico), Dalia Martinez  (Mexico),  Lucas Barbosa (Brazil)
  • 2018 award winners: Maria Rufina Pearson (Argentina), Cecilia María Malbrán (Argentina), Daniela Teixeira Gonçalves (Brazil), María Josefina D’Alessio (Argentina)
  • 2017 award winners: Zsofia K. Takacs (Hungary), Yixun Li (China), Burcu Sari (Turkey), Macarena Silva (Chile)
  • 2016 award winners: Cintia Salgado Azoni (Brazil), Liliana Fonseca (Argentina), Tatiana Cury Pollo (Brazil), Barbara Gottheil (Argentina)