The Early Career Outstanding Paper Award is given every two years by the Society for the Scientific Study of Reading. The next year for this award will be 2025.

The award covers registration fees and entry to the conference social event at either the 2025 or 2026 conference. Award winners will also receive one year’s SSSR membership.


The award is intended to recognize an outstanding paper published in Scientific Studies of Reading by a scholar who has earned their doctorate within the past seven years.

The award is given for the best paper, as determined by the SSSR Awards Committee.

For the award to be announced in July 2025, the PhD should have been received after January 1st 2018 and before June 1st 2025. Consideration will be given for medical or parental leave, if requested.

Those who are graduate students at the time of application and who do not yet have a PhD are not eligible for this award.

If your paper is not chosen for the award in this round, and if you are still eligible two years later, you may submit a new application for the paper during the later round. Please note that applications are not automatically carried over; they need to be resubmitted.

The paper in Scientific Studies of Reading must be published online or in print before the due date of the application, which is April 15th 2025.

Application Materials and Procedure

Please complete the application form and email it in PDF format to Jennifer Hughes-Hardie (scientificstudy.reading@gmail.com) by March 1st 2025.

Outside letters of support are not needed for the award; only the application is required.

Past Award Winners

2023 award winner: Danielle Colenbrander
2021 award winner: Selenid Gonzalez-Frey
2019 award winner: Laura Steacy
2017 award winner: Elsje van Bergen