Taylor and Francis, the publisher of our journal, supplied SSSR with financial means to be used for “scholarship” purposes. This led to the foundation of the SSSR Taylor & Francis Award.

In 2024, four awards will be given to cover registration fees and entry to the conference social event at either the 2024 or 2025 conference. Award winners will also receive one year’s SSSR membership.


The SSSR Taylor & Francis Award is given to promising young investigators.

Applicants must have any type of paper accepted at this year’s SSSR conference and must attend the conference.

Applicants may be either students in PhD programs or those who already have PhDs. Preference will be given to those who are attending the SSSR conference for the first time, those who are currently in PhD programs or who have recently received their PhDs, and those who have documented financial need.

Application Materials and Procedure

Please submit the following materials to Jennifer Hughes-Hardie (scientificstudy.reading@gmail.com) by March 1st 2024:

  • Application form (complete and send as PDF)
  • CV in English (PDF format)
  • Letter of support from someone who can speak to your suitability for this award, such as a colleague or your department chair (PDF format)

Past Award Winners

2023 award winners: Joseph Hin Yan Lam, Elvira Jéldrez, Irene Post, Leah Zimmermann
2021 award winners: Bowen Wang, Nosheen Gul, Tiffany Peltier, Marianne Rice
2020 award winners: Lauren Blockmans, Louisa Boagarts, Anna Erhorn, Sally Larsen
2019 award winners: Badriah Basma, Silke Vanparys, Zhihong Xu, Rouzana Komesidou